天井之家

2020年3月

Strathcona, 溫哥華

我們在這所房子中相見,我們總會有一天離開,繼續走自己的路。

        Light Well House探索陌生城市年輕職業人室友生活方式的意義和其中人與人交往的關係。我和安娜在溫哥華認識并成爲室友的。我們倆都是通過認識我們周邊的生活環境進而去瞭解一座新城市的。我們所居住的地方就是我們在一座新城市裏落脚並慢慢開拓自己圈子的中心據點。就像巴黎歌劇院(Palais Garnier)中央禮堂裏的大樓梯一樣,各處的人流在那裏交匯,視綫相互碰撞。

        我和安娜(Anna)對於這個設計的共同追求是希望我們的傢能夠容納我們各自工作的空間,但同時也必須要有我們可以彼此共享的公共空間。所以在這個設計裏的公共空間并沒有很明確的界限。正式的入口分佈在一條小路徜徉的盡頭的內部庭院中。儅視野開始變開闊了,設計的格局也逐漸明朗, 私人居住的單元分佈在公用廚房上方并且由一個空中長廊相連接。作爲公共區域的底樓主要以大膽且圖案明確的磚塊材料爲主。磚塊牆面一直延伸到後院的開放空間與各種地板材料相輝映以將公共空間與外部的流通感延續。

        室内面嚮天井的一面向内斜向切開, 陽光可以更充足的進入天井中的香草園。爲了將個人空間更大地私密化,將個人單元都在遠離院子的角落裏。個人空間的分化,底樓空間互相連接。底樓與後院的互通讓設計進一步擴大與社區生活的聯係。後院被設計成一個開放的不定向空間,即可以成為鄰居之間互動的場所,也可以成爲我們兩個人夏日共同談天的空間。

Maple He_ENDS 302_FINAL-reeddited_site a

​地源分析

Scan 04 Jan 2021_house with a friend.png

Light Well House

Mar 2020

Strathcona, Vancouver

We meet in 'the house', we will depart some day and keep going down our own track. 

The design explores the meaning and relationships of shared living as young professionals in a strange city. Anna and I met as roommates in Vancouver. We both started to know the new city by knowing people living with and around us. They gave us the primary image of what the city is like. The place we live, ‘the house’ centres our world in the new living environment. It is just like how the grand taircase has become a critical place in the Paris Opera House (Palais Garnier) where different circulations converge and conflict, creating 
opportunities to exchange physical and visual contacts. 

Anna and I we share some common ground that ‘the house’ should express our professional practices but also contain our wish to share and understand each other. The doors to the inside are quite discrete. After taking a side path and following the paving, an internal courtyard opens up the view where the private units and the chef ’s kitchen all connect. The ground floor is a public area that is defined by exposing the materials of the façade and paving. The brick wall stretches all the way down to the backyard and a variety of flooring materials depicts the zoning and continuation of space.


The interior of the house is ‘cut’ open to let the
southern sun into the herb garden. The private
units are therefore laid at the furthest corners to the courtyard. They are distant from exposure but the lower walls give back the connection in space. The house also further represents our idea of shared living in a bigger community. The backyard is designed as an unconditioned space that could facilitate activities between neighbours but would also be the space where we could both enjoy a summer evening.

site analysis

Scan 04 Jan 2021_house with a friend.png